Skip to content

Valentine’s Day

February 14, 2011

As much as I love to run, I also really love to bake! This weekend I was at one my favorite bakeries, Some Crust, in Claremont. Among multiple tasty treats they featured in the case this weekend they had a few fun Valentine’s sugar cookies. One of them was a heart with squiggles going across it. My nursing school brain immediately had a light bulb turn on. With words of encouragement from my mom, also a nurse, I decided to make a special treat for my clinical group. We had to write up patients on Valentines day so what could be better than a sugary post conference treat?

I used my favorite sugar cookie recipe from this blog

I really like to use parchment paper on the top and the bottom of the dough while rolling it out. I don’t have to use a lot of powdered sugar and if the cookies are stubborn I can just cut the parchment and transfer them to a cookie sheet

I usually dip the cookie cutter in powdered sugar to help the cookie to release from the dough

Getting ready to be baked!! Bake for 12-16 min at 350 degrees.

Cool on a cooling rack immediately.

 

 

I used Martha’s royal icing recipe. I like to use a touch of lemon juice and really good vanilla extract. When thinning the icing out to flood I will often use a little extra lemon juice to preserve the flavor as well.

 

Voila! Normal Sinus Rhythm Cookies for the nursing student that is studying too much to enjoy a holiday.

 

Packaged with ribbon and ready for Tuesday!

Joe and I decided to celebrate Valentine’s day on Sunday. After decorating cookies we headed to one of our favorite mexican restaurants. We had so much fun. And they even decorated for Valentine’s day!

I went for my first run tonight after Surf City. I felt a little stiff but I was glad to be back on my feet again. I’m planning to go again after clinical tomorrow. My marathon training plan will be coming soon!

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Love and Hugs,

Sarah

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

