Skip to content

Week 1 of Training, and 13.1 things about my 24th year!

March 1, 2011

Well week 1 is officially over. I can’t believe I ran 33.5 miles in total! I know for you seasoned marathoners out there that it may not seem like that much but I am amazed I had it in me. I ended up skipping a lower mileage run because I knew I was tired and I am trying to listen to my body, especially since these higher mileages are new for me. So here are the runs I actually did: 5 miles (Easy), 8 miles (Interval), 7 miles (tempo), 13.5 miles (medium long). I am taking an extra rest day because I just had two clinical days in a row and I am really tired. So I will be getting back out there with an 8-10 mile run tomorrow. I plan on seeing how I feel, I’m really glad I have so much flexibility in my training plan. A huge part of my week was my birthday. This past weekend I celebrated with friends and family and I was thinking about how incredibly lucky I am to have all of you in my life. I can’t believe how far I have come in the last 2 years. In fact, in September 2009 the farthest I had run was 4 miles. In 2010, my 24th year, I ran SIX…. SIX HALF MARATHONS! Since 13.1 was huge part of last year I decided, with some inspiration from the Chic Runner, to reflect on 13.1 things about my 24th year.

1. I got engaged to the love of my life and my best friend. I love you so much Joe! Thank you for inspiring me to be my best at everything and encouraging me to push myself to my limits. I couldn’t train for this marathon without you!

2. I am almost a nurse! I can’t believe how much nursing has changed me as a person. I’m so glad I found a career that challenges me and allows me to help people. I love working with my patients it is so rewarding. 

(Sleepy on the first day of clinical)

3. More than ever I have come to realize how important family is. I am so lucky to have them in my life and I wouldn’t trade them for anything.

4. My nursing posssee….. I LOVE YOU! There are no words!

5. I went to San Francisco for the first time to run the first half of the San Francisco Marathon. It fell in love when I ran over the Golden Gate Bridge. It was so “worth the hurt” and I can’t wait to run The San Francisco Marathon… as in the FULL!

6. I qualified for California Dreamin’ Status. I love this medal and the jacket. I would wear them every day if the medal wasn’t so heavy.

7. I climbed Half Dome for the second time! It was a lot harder this time… must have been the 90 degree weather! The view and the company was completely worth it.

8. Joe and I went to Yosemite in the Fall. It was gorgeous and we even went on a haunted Halloween cemetery tour! So much fun!

9. I ran the Las Vegas Half Marathon and it was awesome! I loved running down the strip and seeing myself on the hotel screens.

Keeping it classy in an ice bath… with the medal still on

10. I ran Surf City 201o and Surf City 2011, and unofficially……. BROKE 2 HOURS!!

11. I planned most of my wedding!!

12. I still had set backs. The nursing job market makes me scared of graduating. I had some tough things happen in my family and future family that were really heartbreaking to me. But in the end, I have so much to be thankful for and I am ready to meet the coming year head on.

13. I registered for BIG SUR!!!

.1   I started a blog… it’s the .1 because I am hoping I can keep it up 🙂

Love and Hugs,

Sarah

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

